Jun 21, 2016
San Francisco
Detector(s) used
Minelab Equinox 800
Garrett 350
Primary Interest:
Other
Hi everyone -

While my hobby is metal detecting, my full time job is building applications. I am a UI designer and I make games for the Xbox One and PS4 game systems. Lately I have been working on iOS (smartphone) apps and I am building one for my hobby, OUR hobby. Right now I"m building it out for the iOS devices with a quick follow up to Android devices.

The working name is DIGGER. It allows you to create an account for free and use all of it's abilities for free. You can take pics of your finds, it will map the location with google maps but also longitude and latitude. It will allow you to post to your facebook page if you desire and you can IF YOU WANT, it will allow you share your hunt location with other users of the app, but ONLY IF YOU WANT TO SHARE. All information is stored locally on your phone/device.

Now here is the interesting part for you who want even more. I've also built a database access that saves all of the information I just mentioned but also includes weather conditions, what detector your using and any other notes you want to put into the hunt that day. It will also have a map overlay option that if there is a SANBORN map of the area you are in, it will overlay the SANBORN map over your current position so that you can see what use to be in the area. It will also have the option to tell you who currently owns that property via county records and how to contact them so that you can get permission to hunt in that location. Also, it will have a permission form that if the owner wishes, they can sign right on your phone that gives you permission to hunt so that if your approached by a neighbor or law enforcement, you have a signed release in hand.