Buckle, Buckle, Whos got the Buckle?

BioProfessor

Silver Member
Apr 6, 2007
Mankato, MN
Detector(s) used
Minelab e-Trac, White E-Series DFX
Buckle, Buckle, Who's got the Buckle?

Back to my weird Civil War site. Searched for a few hours today and found this buckle. The center post has rusted away. I can find buckles on the web but I can't find any with 4 holes on each side. Are these just decorative or where they used? Any ideas as to the type buckle (shoe, knee, etc) and when it would have been used?

Thanks,

Daryl

Attachments

• buckle1.jpg
    buckle1.jpg
    56.8 KB · Views: 265
  • buckle2.jpg
    buckle2.jpg
    62.5 KB · Views: 268
Re: Buckle, Buckle, Who's got the Buckle?

The engravings on it are beautiful! I'm not a buckle expert, but I would venture a guess that some type of thread or leather went through the holes, either vertically or horizontically to hold them on to whatever they went on. Good find! -Noodle

Upvote 0

If I don't find something from the site related to the civil war soon, I guess you're right. But I just can't believe it. Sherman - 20,000 troops - a very historic incident where General Jackson crossed the creek with all his soldiers, horse, and artillery then pulled the pontoons and over 300 people drowned. And I can't find a thing from that. I'm looking for a date discrimination switch on the DFX that I somehow missed.

Thanks for the website on the buckles. It is very similar and I think you nailed the period. So the holes are just decorative? That was what I found different and interesting on this one.

Thanks for all the help.

Daryl

Upvote 0

To me it looks like part of a tack for horses or riggings.....Mags

Upvote 0

Well, I finally figured out why I keep finding Revolutionary War stuff at my "Civil War" site. Seems the person who wrote the book on the Salzberger settlement on Ebenezer Creek got it wrong. They said: