image-4250852853.jpg
    43.6 KB · Views: 172
  • image-3495728746.jpg
    image-3495728746.jpg
    49.6 KB · Views: 148
  • image-604807187.jpg
    image-604807187.jpg
    39.7 KB · Views: 171
Yup. Looks like a belt buckle. I've seen them on here and other places on the net before. I think it might be military. Possibly civil war era. I'm not an expert though. Someone will jump in here that has seen one of these before and knows what it is.

Upvote 0
Stikman wrote:
> I marked this as solved because I have no idea what I'm doing.

No need to try to undo the mistake, because here is your find's very-exact ID.

It is indeed a belt buckle... specifically, a US Army sword-belt buckle, Regulation 1851 Pattern. Your specimen, like most excavated ones, is missing the stamped nickel-silver wreath which was applied to the buckle's front just below (and partially surrounding) the spread-winged eagle.

Although your buckle's wreath is missing, your photo shows there's no provision for the wreath to extend across the eagle's wingtips. Therefore, your buckle dates from sometime between 1861 and 1873. (In 1874 the buckle's design was changed and thus was known as the 1874 Pattern.

The buckle's width was enlarged in 1864, so we need to know your find's very-precise width measurement to know whether it dates from 1861-63 or 1864-73.

Your buckle shows no sign of gold-gilting, so it was made for Enlisted-men's use. (The Officer's version was gold-gilted.)

The small shallow round dimple in your solid-cast brass buckle's back means it was also die-stamped to create "crisper" detail in the emblem on its front.

The small numbers on the back are the manufacturer's "benchmark" number. Similar numbers are occasionally seen on other examples of sword-belt buckles. Unfortunately, it is definitely not an army regiment number.