Backyard tips?

chiggermagnet

Sep 9, 2012
Southern Maryland
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi all,

Complete newbie here. Expect my MD to arrive this week. Gonna start in my backyard. My house is on land that was a farm. The woods have lots of stuff dumped there. Lots of metal and bottles. The back of the yard is the old farm road. The house and rest of the yard was farmland. Where would be the best place to start looking? Thanks for helping me get started!

ChiggerMagnet

Just open the back door, look around, and step outside and start. No-one knows how much trash you will or won't find before anything good is to be found. Just start. There is no magic to it. If you are aiming for relics and know where the farm house was located , start there. Look up online for privy digging (outhouse), where alot of items were thrown into. Around barns. Make charts, go back over where you detected at another angle. Getting to know your detector is most important. All the bings, hums, chimes or whatever sounds it makes. DIG EVERYTHING and learn your detector while doing so. You'll have fun and become addicted like the rest of us. There is no rush to get it all done in a day or two or three. Take your time and learn grasshopper. Good Luck and post pictures!

Thank You! Can't wait to get started! I'm sure I'll get plenty of hits in the backyard. It'll be good practice. I know the original farmhouse was across the street. I got an aerial photo many years ago. I know I need to practice digging before asking my neighbors permission. We'll see what happens..

CM

See.... there ya go..... ya just needed a little push grasshopper! LOL:laughing7: You'll have a blast and will find that the hours FLY on by before you can keep track!

Welcome to the addiction!