NGE

Silver Member
May 27, 2008
S.E. Michigan
Detector(s) used
Etrac, Explorer XS II, Fisher 1266-X
Primary Interest:
Other
I have finally learned some Etrac-ese, The language of the "god." I went to another of my favorite parks yesterday (4/1/11). When someone says "HAMMERED" they don't know what they're talking about till they go to this park. It dates back to the mid 1800's. It was a private estate that was willed to Wayne County, Michigan Parks division back in the early 1900's by the Slocum family heirs. And it was named after either the wife or one of the children, the name of the park is: Elizabeth Park. This park is about 30 miles from where I live now but, I have been hunting it for over 50 years! In this time, I have taken 2 U.S. Half dimes, several seated quarters, about 100 indian cents, antique gold jewelry, a live hand grenade was found by another hunter (Vietnam era), all kinds of trash. And yesterday was no exception, about the trash. I was digging high pitched shrieks, which paid off in the end. My first weird signal was my luckiest one as it set the pace for the day. A rolled cent that says Niagara Falls Canada "Good Luck Cent" I went to my favorite spot in the whole park, old concrete shuffle board courts. There is a carpet of rusted beer caps there, and very difficult to hunt. But, I had put my 8X6 S.E.F. coil on to give it a try. From 8 inches I pulled 6 bottle caps and a piece of rusted sparkler wire annnnnnnd, an 1890 indian cent. Then I wandered over to where there used to be a ball diamond. I have always done good over there. Back in the day, the G.A.R. used to have reunions in that area (before the ball diamond) and have always found many, many old .45-70 empty brass casings mixed in with the coins. Suddenly, I got a strange signal! Kinda warblely and trashy sounding but, somewhere in the mix a sort of a fleeting sound of something good, you know just a slight tick of a sound. At 10 inches I dug the remains of a very corroded .45-70 cartrid