Alluvial gold—how to find the source?

StoryWriter85

Greenie
Aug 20, 2024
Hi all! My name’s Ryan and I’m new to this forum. I’m a beginner who knows little about prospecting, and am here to learn. I’m writing a novel set in 1870 about gold prospectors, and want to describe the process accurately—from tracing and digging methods to geology. I’ll probably ask many questions.

My first one is this: when panning yields alluvial deposits, what are typical ways to trace them to their source? For example, I know one way is to search hill slopes alongside the stream for eluvial gold…but how is this done? One source I found says to pan the dirt on the slope, while another says to dig holes. Could somebody explain why a person would dig rather than pan the dirt, or vice versa?

If the gold isn’t sourced at these slopes, how does one find it? Keep panning up river?

Upvote 2
You have to dig your way up and along these slopes to hopefully find the source and the same goes for in the streams . That's what is called prospecting and you must do this to find the gold. Back and forth along the hillside then move up the hill to eventually / hopefully find the point of the source your looking for. Until that time your a prospector and once you map out and find the source then you start being a miner and the digging starts. It sounds like your going to have a nice book to read ! Please keep us informed of when it'll be in print and where to get it ! I love reading these books. GOOD LUCK with your story !!! :coffee2: :icon_thumleft: :icon_thumleft: OH and congratulations to your first post and a big welcome to you!

Welcome to the site... :hello:

My first one is this: when panning yields alluvial deposits, what are typical ways to trace them to their source?