ADVISE WELCOME!!!!!!

shmoyork

Feb 26, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello new friends!! My name is Ashley and I am ready to get into the hobby of hunting for civil war relics. I have so many questions and I am very overwhelmed at getting started. Also, this is my first time on a forum of any kind so before I start to ask any questions, I'll tell you a little about me and why I am interested in relic hunting.(Please tell me if I am too long winded so I'll know for next time, but I am SO excited!!) Well, for starters I was born and raised in a quite historical county in Central VA. I really didn't appreciate the rich history that surrounded me as I was growing up. Even as children, my sister and I found civil war bullets and even some arrowheads just helping our mom in the garden and playing in the dirt. I also spent lots of time with my grandma "treasure hunting" in the woods all over looking for bottles or whatever we could find. I wish I had embraced what I had learned as a youngster so that I could use it now...so let's fast forward a "few" years...I am now living in another somewhat historical area in central VA. A few years ago, my fiance' and I were talking one day with a friend of the family who is in his 60's and has lived and worked here his entire life. He informed us that just across our front yard, just into the edge of our woods, there is an old dump site that the families who lived on the orchard that our 12 acres was a part of many years ago used. So, I got a shovel and some tools and started digging. I became obsessed and finally got down to some old stuff. One of my favorite finds was a 100 yr old quark top whisky bottle in good condition...Why am I telling you all of this?? Well...that's what got me started on what I'm beginning to think is my passion. So here we are in the present...In two days I will be turning 32 and if I don't get the metal detector I have been begging for for months....Well I suppose I'll just have to go buy my