advice needed?

bowgod1977

Aug 18, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
What is everyone running as far as mats in their small (2-5 inch) dredges?
I'm new to dredging, and still haven't quite tuned my dredge to the exact way I want it to run. I'm getting close, but not 100% happy with my mat. I've tried a couple different configurations, but none have really hit the mark for me.
So I'm just curious what everyone else is running, and how often do you have to clean out your sluice?

I asked this question several times on a different forum, and couldn't get a single reply, so hopefully I'll have better luck here. So far this place hasn't let me down, so I'm sure I'll get some good info.
Thanks in advance
Dave

What size and kind of dredge do you have or are looking to get? What kind of sluice do you have: a single stage over and under, or triple? How long is it ? What kind of mat are you running and where are they in your sluice? What horsepower and what model engine do you have (honda, briggs, subaru)? And what size gold is in the areas you will be frequenting most?

I hate to say this, because I hated hearing it.......BUT.......it depends on the material you are dredging......there I said it.

Every river...better yet...every section of river generally requires some minor tweaking.
Run for 10 or 15 minutes and check/tweak...run again 10 or 15...same till your happy.

Hope this helps.

[\/]ike

yuup what mike said, facvtory, or homemade
me i run my box as flat as possible, with no loadup,( missed on a couple of ocassions but caught the dredge during listing stages) give a rats backside about matting, carpet good enough, miners moss way too much black sand, riffles load up, clean, tailing pile tells me the whole story, one fly poop speck per pan in the tailings i am off and running

MUCH mo'info needed-John

Not really, I'm not asking for suggestions, I simply asked what everyone else is running, and how often they have to clean out on a good run.