Which XP?

sibbley

Mar 18, 2023
Nazareth, PA
Detector(s) used
Dr. Otek MT-XR, Ace Apex, Xterra Pro, Nokta Legend, Nokta Makro Impact, Manticore, XP ORX, XP Deus 2 WS6 Master
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I'm considering an XP detector. Honestly, the reason for this consideration is how much I love the MI6 pinpointer. I had a pro-pointer AT and a ProFind 35 and couldn't stand either. Always seemed to be chasing something that wasn't there. Since I bought the MI6 I haven't had that problem.

Anyway, I think the Deus II is out. I really don't want to spend that much. I've been looking at either the Deus I or the Orx. I've seen the Orx with wireless headphones for $599 with either the 9" or 11" HF or the X35 coils. I thinks that's how it was. I like that price.

I've only been detecting for about 9 months. so I'm still learning. Looks to me that the Orx is my way to go. I believe I read the Orx is really good in trashy areas. I hunt yards and fields no beach close enough.

What do you folks think? What would you do?

DIG5050

Apr 15, 2021
Ohio
Detector(s) used
Deus II 9”
Garrett Apex
Fisher 1236-X2
Fisher CZ20
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Consider a Deus II WS6 master, or a lightly used Deus II RC master. Shop around for the best deal and see what you can find. You won’t regret it.

Emil W

Nov 4, 2021
Central New Jersey
Detector(s) used
Deus 2
Deus
Deus Lite
Garrett Apex
Garrett Pinpointer
BH Discovery 2200
BH Pioneer EX
White's Coinmaster 6000D (have had for decades)
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I suggest watching these two videos comparing the Deus 1 to the ORX. Gary Blackwell is one of the most knowledgeable XP testers you'll find.

I have both the Deus 1 and 2, as well as a Deus lite, which is basically the Deus 1 version of the D2 WS6 master. The Deus 1 is an excellent machine. Had the D2 never been released I would have been content using the D1 for the rest of my life. I have no experience with the ORX.

cudamark

Gold Member