Could this be a Real Higley Copper ?? Found in old

Mrweb2017

Jun 11, 2017
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Found this old coin the other day in an old coin collection full of colonial coins everything in the box was real.But this one I just don't know if it's real or not it weighs 9.7 g from the research I've done Higley coppers are so rare I'm wondering if it's a fake ?
IMG_0010.JPG IMG_0011.JPG IMG_0012.JPG IMG_0014.JPG IMG_0015.JPG IMG_0018.JPG IMG_0021.JPG IMG_0022.JPG IMG_0013.JPG IMG_0117.JPG IMG_0117.JPG IMG_0112.JPG

Last edited:

Silver Searcher

Gold Member
Sep 27, 2006
UK
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
XP Deus
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
So you can't tell the difference between any real or fake coin from a picture?[/QUOTE Why would I need to I'm not a expert just like everybody else that post one here. half the people just like me knew nothing about this type of coin/token, but branded it a fake.

]No coin expert would put there reputation on the line, by perhaps making a false/mistake call from a picture. And I know quite a few who deal in high numbers and they all say the same thing, sure in the minds they probably know. As for the coin posted Like I said I knew nothing of them until it came up on here, a very interesting history when you goggle it, especially as most varieties where double struck. A guess quite a number would have a poor look to them, not having a high relief on the flan due to worn dies and the way the moneyer struck them.

Last edited:
Upvote 0

Iron Patch

Gold Member
Sep 28, 2007
Dirtyville
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Deus
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
So you can't tell the difference between any real or fake coin from a picture?[/QUOTE Why would I need to I'm not a expert just like everybody else that post one here. half the people just like me knew nothing about this type of coin/token, but branded it a fake.